Songs of the Sea

Now available on pre-release

Written as a tribute to the artist’s late father, modern folk album Songs of the Sea delicately explores the foundations of what makes us who we are - memory, identity, our bonds with others - and describes with deep sensitivity a journey of letting go the things that we build and would wish to keep.  

From the understated yearning of opening track Oh Beautiful Heart, to the rhythmic dialectic of Light Will Come and the quiet, defiant beauty of Compasses, every song speaks deftly and movingly of the immediacy of life in its arriving, its living and its ending.  

 "a fine ear for a song...lyrical, personal and thoroughly earnest.

Songs of the Sea is a moving, sincere album, and one that promises interesting things to come."

Folk Radio UK


Songs of the Sea is an amazing debut, full of stunning lyrical deftness...a joy to listen to from start to finish.” - Mark Gannon, Backseat Mafia

Read the full review

Songs of the Electric Night EP

Songs of the Electric Night EP

The experimental and darker folk sound of Songs of the Electric Night was released in March 2020. The opening track, Reykjavik, inspired by the artist's travels in Iceland.

Closing track Ghost in the Machine plays with the centuries old questions of human soul, mind and body, and culminates in a rousing finale provided by a makeshift children's choir.

 "I have been dreaming away on this"
Indie Folk Central

"Understated, tender emotion"
Various Small Flames 


Ian David Green is a singer, songwriter and musician born and raised in Liverpool, England and living in London. His early influences include folk greats such as Bob Dylan, Simon & Garfunkel and Leonard Cohen, artists whose styles are reflected in his thoughtful and poetic lyrical arrangements.

Ian's interest in low-fi, Americana and electronic music informs occasional, darker works such as the Songs of the Electric Night EP released in March 2020.